Registering a Snowmobile in New York
Any snowmobile operated in New York State must be registered with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), even if it is registered in another state or province, except under certain special circumstances. Registration is done at the time of sale by the dealer in NY State or you may register it yourself at a local DMV office.
A snowmobile obtained in a private sale or from an out-of-state source may be registered by the new owner at any Motor Vehicle office or by a dealer participating in the state's prepaid registration program. Out of state riders must present their states registration document to the NY DMV office to obtain their first registration.
Cost To Register A Snowmobile In New York
$100 for each snowmobile registered by persons who do not belong to a New York State Snowmobile Association member Club.
$45 for each snowmobile registered by persons belonging to a New York State Snowmobile Association member Club.
$35 of each resident and non-resident registration goes to the Snowmobile Trail Development and Maintenance Fund. This fund supports over 10,000 miles of public snowmobile trails in New York State, snowmobile safety education programs and enforcement of NYS snowmobile laws! The fine for operating an unregistered snowmobile in NY State is $200 + the cost of registration.
How To Register A Snowmobile On Saturday
New York State, Department of Motor Vehicle has temporary snowmobile registrations available on Saturdays during the season, from 9AM to 3PM at the DMV office in Mayville, NY or select locations such as the Depot in Mayville. Call (716) 753-4229 for Saturday registration info and availability.
How To Register A Snowmobile ONLINE
New York State, Department of Motor Vehicle now allows you to register your snowmobile online and receive an immediate temporary ID card. The new registraton is for out of state residents only, however even NY riders with existing registration can renew online as well and print ID cards. Follow the links below for existing and new snowmobile registrations online.
NYS Registration LinksNYS DMV Office Locations & HoursNYS DMV Snowmobile Registration Application MV-82SNNYS DMV Snowmobile Registration Application Instructions MV-82.1Online Registration Renewal - All RidersOnline Registration For NEW Out Of State ResidentsClick HERE For Registration FAQs
Documents Required While Riding
Snowmobilers must carry registration and proof of insurance documents on their person at all times while snowmobiling and should never leave them in their sled. These documents must be produced at the request of any law enforcement officer or magistrate. Insurance documentation must be produced at the request of anyone who is injured or suffers property damage as a result of operation of a snowmobile. Holders of snowmobile safety certificates must also carry the certificate when they are snowmobiling.
Is there a speed limit on the trails?
Yes, since 2005 there has been a 55MPH speed limit on public trails unless posted lower. Tickets can be given by officers on sleds or posted along crossings, so yes you have to watch your speed. We urge riders to travel at "reasonable and prudent speed for the existing conditions". Reasonable means remembering that many families are out riding together, enjoying the outdoors. Slow down when you meet other sledders, ease up when you come to a curve, bridge or rise in the trail. Bottom line is that is just like being on a road, you want to race you better find a track!
Are helmets required when on a snowmobile?
Yes. Since April 1, 1998, NYS has required each operator and passenger on a snowmobile to wear protective headgear approved by the Commissioner of the NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.
Is it against the law to operate a snowmobile while under the influence?
Yes!!!!! A court can suspend the privilege of a person to operate a snowmobile if the person is convicted of snowmobiling under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The court can also suspend the snowmobile registration. The law also provides for strict penalties and enforcement for these offenses. A person who refuses to take a chemical test (breath test) immediately receives a suspension of the privilege to operate a snowmobile pending a DMV hearing.